Invite to Apply

Melissa h.

  • 10-25/hr
  • 12 yrs exp
  • English

I am very experienced in giving care for children. I have been doing so for over 10 years. I have experience with children with disabilities as well as mainstream kids. I have experience with all age groups from infants through teens. I am very active and have worked the past 3-4 years in fitness related fields, along with child care. I was a former camp counselor where I supervised children, provided care, arts and crafts along with many other activities. I also have experience as a nanny, babysitter, & mothers helper where I ensured a safe home environment and activities for children of various ages and learning abilities Including challenges presented for caring of children with developmental disabilities. I am CPR/AED/1st aid certified and have taken the red cross babysitting courses when I first started sitting at the age of 14.

  • Bachelors
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Willing to learn new diagnoses and care skills
  • I have a reliable vehicle
  • I am willing to drive children

Teaching Licenses and Certifications

  • Substitute Teacher

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Asthma
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Concussion
  • Diabetes Type 1
  • Diabetes Type 2
  • Food Allergy
  • Headache/Migraine
  • Hearing Impairment or Loss
  • Lactose Intolerance
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Obesity, Childhood
  • Speech-Language Disorder
  • Asberger Syndrome
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder
  • Down Syndrome
  • Learning Disability
  • Mental Retardation
  • Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder
  • Phobia

Medication Administration

  • Opthalmic Eye Drop and Ointment
  • Otic Ear Drop
  • Nebulized Therapy Breathing Treatment
  • Inhaled Inhaler
  • Oral Swallowed by mouth in form of pill, liquid, lozenge, tablet, gel
  • Emergency Medication Administration (EpiPen, Glucose Gel, Rectal Suppository, Sublingual)

Experience or training in the following Medical/Healthcare Skills

  • Oral Care
  • Bed Baths/Shower Assistance
  • Proper Body Lifting Mechanics
  • Special Medical Diets
  • Obtain/Monitor Vital Signs
  • Food Allergies
  • Taking Client to Medical Appointments and Effectively Communicating with Medical Professionals and Family

Job Type

  • Occasional, Scheduled

My Availability Until 06/05/2016

  • Weekday Early Mornings (Before school)
  • Weekday Daytime (M - F)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekday Overnight
  • Weekend Daytime
  • Weekend Evening
  • Weekend Overnight