Invite to Apply

KATIE L.

  • 15-25/hr
  • 10 yrs exp
  • English

Hello Families, After graduating with a BA in English and Creative Writing, I moved from the East Coast to Santa Barbara, California where I found myself as a nanny for three children ages 3, 4, and 7. Listening to the children's gleeful screams of terror as the ocean waves came into shore and then tucking them into nap after hours of endless play was pure bliss. I was not using a lick of my education and loving every minute of it. I went on to teach in various preschool settings. I taught at a Reggio Emilia based preschool in which the arts and collaborative education was at the heart of the curriculum. I taught at Seasons Preschool where I was mentored in utilizing non violent communication with children and used nature as the core component of learning. I was a lead teacher at Highlands Academy Preschool where I managed a classroom of 18 preschoolers. I promoted literacy, formed nurturing relationships, and implemented loving discipline. I am trained in Yoga for Adults and Yoga for kids and opened Peanut Butter and Yoga in 2010 in Santa Barbara, CA. I am pursuing a Master's in Early Childhood Education and recently left my teaching business to launch a dog walking/sitting/and hiking business as well as Peanut Butter and Yoga. I am looking for jobs in which I can offer the following: -Pet Care -Child Care -Yoga For Kids or Adults -Household Management/ Personal Assistant Work. My rates start at $17 an hour. I am looking for Date Nights, Occasional Days, and Part Time Work. Thank you for taking the time to read this and have a wonderful holiday season! Sincerely, Katie "There is no keener revolution of a society's soul than the manner in which it treats its children." Nelson Mandela "Replace fear of the unkown with curiosity." Dan Goyke

  • Graduate
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Willing to learn new diagnoses and care skills
  • I have experience in or knowledge of Individualized Education Programs (IEP).
  • I have a reliable vehicle
  • I am willing to drive children

Teaching Licenses and Certifications

  • Paraeducator
  • Substitute Teacher
  • Developmental Disabilities
  • Early Childhood Special Education

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Asthma
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Childhood Apraxia of Speech
  • Food Allergy
  • Fragile X Syndrome
  • Headache/Migraine
  • Hydrocephalus
  • Neurological Disorder
  • Asberger Syndrome
  • Attention-Deficit (Hyperactivity) Disorder
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder
  • Down Syndrome
  • Pervasive Developmental Disorder

Medication Administration

  • Oral Swallowed by mouth in form of pill, liquid, lozenge, tablet, gel
  • Emergency Medication Administration (EpiPen, Glucose Gel, Rectal Suppository, Sublingual)

Experience or training in the following Medical/Healthcare Skills

  • Asthma Procedures/Emergency Plan
  • Food Allergies
  • Taking Client to Medical Appointments and Effectively Communicating with Medical Professionals and Family

Job Type

  • Occasional, Scheduled, Summer

My Availability Until 02/26/2015

  • Weekday Early Mornings (Before school)
  • Weekday Daytime (M - F)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekday Overnight
  • Weekend Daytime
  • Weekend Evening
  • Weekend Overnight